Gravity Canterbury

About Us


Downhill, Free Ride and Enduro

Gravity Canterbury Down Hill and Free Ride Club was established in 2003. You can tell by the name that back then free ride and downhill were tops. In the last few years, Enduro has become really popular, but we’re still a Downhill club at the core.

The club has a set of Rules, is an Incorporated Society (1376363) and has Charities Commission status (CC44687). This means we can assure members that we are well run, keep good financial and administrative records, and are focused on our key goals of promoting downhill biking, encouraging biking as a recreation activity and running events for competitive and fun mountain bikers.




Gravity has a president, secretary and treasurer, along with a committee and Enduro sub-committee.

2015-16 Committee
President – Howard McConachie
Treasurer – Jane Lucas
Secretary – Ruth Sarson 

Committee members
Matthew Hides, Kieran Bennett, Glenn Rees, Will Keay, Oliver Jarman, Agata Bulska, Nils Heiniger.

Enduro sub-committee members
Mike Inwood, Ally Mackay, Will Keay, Nick Middleton, Luke Hooper, John Wooding, Kristen Fellers, Max Hides.



Gravity has been a consistent supporter of the national advocacy body, Mountain Bike New Zealand (MTBNZ). We are affiliated to them, which in turn means we are associated with Cycling New Zealand, the national sports body for all types of cycling.

Gravity supports the growth of a strong national organisation to represent mountain bikers. Our club president is on the executive on MTBNZ.

Gravity has a close relationship with Bike Methven. We aim to work together each summer to run races and/or shuttle days that showcase local track builder Cameron Bisset's awesome trails. We worked very hard in 2014 to jointly co-host the Oceania Mountain Bike Championships at Mt Hutt.